Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Chemistry and Physics

FSU HomeChemistryUpdates and News

Updates and News

Thirteen (13) Chemistry majors had Internship experience in Summer 2017. Congratulations to them all: 

  1. Carlin Ashford: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) at the University of Houston. 
  2. Marissa Baccas: Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates (MBG REU) at Cornell University. 
  3. Ky'ara Carr: New York University School of Medicine Sackler Institute's 2017 Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) in the Biomedical Sciences. 
  4. Daniel Loeven: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) at Tuskegee University. 
  5. Laura Lovell: The Department of Energy's (DOE) Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships (SULI) program at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL).
  6. Zaniya Mark: Leadership Alliance Summer Research Early Identification Program (SR-EIP) at the University of Miami. 
  7. Lenore Miller: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) at Tuskegee University. 
  8. Zariana Mobley: 2017 Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Summer Research Program for Historically Black Colleges & Universities/Minority Institutions (HBCU/MI). 
  9. Amani Rashad: Colon Cancer Center for Research Summer Program at University of South Carolina (USC). 
  10. Khya Stewart: Department of Energy Environmental Management Division (DOE-EM) Minority Serving Institutions Partnership Program (MSIPP) Summer Internship at the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) on Hazardous Materials Management Internship position. 
  11. Chibu Umerah: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) at Tuskegee University. 
  12. Obumneke Umerah: Summer Research for Undergraduate Fellowship in the Institute for Regenerative Engineering at University of Connecticut CONN Health. 
  13. Kimberly West: The Medical Education Development (MED) Program in the Schools of Medicine at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill.

The Department of Chemistry and Physics is pleased to welcome three new additions to our family: Dr. Bhoj Gautam (Assistant Professor of Physical Science), Dr. Hengguang Li (Lecturer/Core Facility Supervisor), and Mr. Joseph Kabbes (Lecturer/Planetarium Manager).

Ms. Chibu Umerah (graduated in May 2017) joined the Graduate Program at Tuskegee University (Tuskegee, Alabama). Congratulations!  

Ms. Shardai Johnson (graduated in May 2017) joined the Graduate Program at Tuskegee University (Tuskegee, Alabama). Congratulations!

Mr. Kareen Blue (graduated in May 2015; received an M.S. degree from ECU in 2017) joined the Ph.D. Program at Clark Atlanta University (Atlanta, Georgia). Congratulations!

Dr. Gurcharan Rahi (Professor of Physical Science) and Dr. Jianshi Wu (Professor of Physics) retired. A special retirement ceremony was held on April 24, 2017, to honor their services to our Department and Institution. Chancellor James Anderson, Provost Jon Young, Dean Samuel Adu-Mireku, Chair Cevdet Akbay, faculty, staff, and family members were present. Dr. Rahi received his Ph.D. from Mississippi State University (Starkville, MS); Dr. Wu received his Ph.D. from Yale University (New Haven, CT).Dr. Wu and Dr. Rahi joined the Department in August 1992 and August 2001, respectively. We wish them a very happy retirement. They will be missed.

Dr. Nagdas and Ms. Kimberly West

Dr. Nagdas and his mentee, Ms. Kimberly West, are featured on the UNC System website... Kimberly West was fairly certain with what she wanted to do with her life. After obtaining a bachelor's degree with a double major in ethnomusicology and music composition and theory from East Carolina University in 2010, she planned to do post-graduate work with the goal of becoming a professor of ethnomusicology, the study of music as it pertains to different cultures and countries... Read more... 

Shivaliben "Shivali" Patel, a Chemistry major, served as Chancellor for a Day on February 3, 2016. Shivali stated that she "strives to be the best representative for FSU, whether it is on campus by doing research with professors as an LSAMP scholar, or off-campus serving as a tutor at the Fayetteville Urban Ministry." She feels that as Chancellor for a Day she will learn more about administrative processes as well as other things, which would make her a better and more successful person. Always striving for excellence, she has been on the Chancellor's Honors List each semester. Read more...

Marissa BaccasMarissa Baccas, a research student in Dr. Nagdas's lab, received an award for an outstanding presentation in biochemistry at the ABRCMS meeting in Seattle, Washington. Ms. Baccas joined in the RISE program from fall 2015. Read more...

Congratulations to the winners of the Annual NC-LSAMP Research Conference, held on Saturday, October 31st, 2015. 1st Place Chemistry: Kimberly West (Mentor: Dr. Subir Nagdas). 2nd Place Chemistry: Shivaliben Patel (Mentor: Dr. Shubo Han).

FSU Wins 3rd Place in Innovation in Materials Science Competition at the Materials Research Society 2014 Fall Meeting in Boston Massachusetts, Monday, December 1, 2014. Read more...


Videos to Watch

Department of Chemistry and Physics

Studio Classroom

Flipped Learning in Studio Classroom

Learning Physics in Studio Classroom

President Spellings' Visit

Graduation Parties

Fall Preview - 2014

PWC Visit

Outreach Activity - Apex

Mole Day 2014

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina